Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      teflo
      Participant

This is a problem I had & posted in Microsoft Community Forums after a recent update. I thought this might help someone …

Hi

I have been using my Samsung notebook for almost 4 years & have not had this combination of problems before.

1. The other day, a friend used my notebook while holding it in his lap & noted it was getting very hot & with fan blowing out unusually hot air the whole time. He has used it before & never had this.
        I did not take it seriously until I noted later the temperatures where keeping unusually high, often crossing the 85°C threshold & then even over 90°. I have had this before in the 80s, but it’s only for a few moments, and I do mostly multitask with a number programs running. I don’t remember temperatures of 90°C.
        That night while watching a film & with only Windows media player classic running, the PC shutdown on its own, most likely because it was too hot. I have never had this before.
        Before that, whatever I am doing, even when running Pinnacle Studio video editor& rendering a film & concurrently doing other stuff like photo editing with Gimp, etc, it never heats to over 80°C or remained there long.
        Dust is NOT an issue, because nothing injected that much of it on 12th Oct. to interrupt the fan, but even then, I did some comprehensive suction with a vacuum cleaner today & as I’m writing this, it’s noticeably hot with a very busy fan, like it has been of late running constantly!